Chronic Pain

Hi there Rehabhub readers,

I have learned a lot about chronic pain over the past few weeks and there is so much more to learn. I am not even going to start discussing chronic pain here. What I will do is direct you to some fantastic resouces that I have found have made a massive difference to my understanding in this area.

A book that I found very useful, both for understanding chronic pain myself and for giving me ways to explain it to clients is Explain Pain by David Butler and Lorimer Mosley. It is $70 if you buy it on line. I borrowed it from a local library for free. Love libraries! It is easy to read and well worth looking at, even just for the funky illustrations!

I also met and did a course with Dr Coralie Wales who runs seminars through her firm The Square Cogs Project. The course was understanding Chronic Pain Level 1 and I can highly recommend it. I understand Coralie runs these courses all over Australia. Coralie is also the President of Chronic Pain Australia. Have a look at the website for Chronic Pain Australia. You will find it is packed full of great resources you and your clients. I am particularly impressed with the fact sheets about different aspects of chronic pain.

Lastly I would like to refer you to a blog in New Zealand with a focus on chronic pain called HealthSkills Weblog by Bronwyn Thompson, an OT and psychologist. She provides weekly insights which are uaually  about chronic pain. They are  are well researched and very useful.

Hope you find these resourses useful. Please feel free to comment if know of any others that could benefit Rehabhub readers.

About RehabHub

I am the Rehabhub editor
This entry was posted in chonic pain and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Chronic Pain

  1. This information is very useful. Thanks.

  2. I’m also writing to let you know what a nice discovery my friend’s daughter went through going through your webblog. She discovered so many pieces, most notably what it is like to have an amazing helping heart to get certain people without hassle comprehend specified tortuous subject matter. You truly exceeded people’s desires. I appreciate you for supplying these beneficial, healthy, informative and as well as unique thoughts on that topic to Jane.

  3. RehabHub says:

    I appreciate these comments so much. I can tell that what you are saying comes from the heart and I am delighted that I have been able to help your friends daughter in some small way.

Leave a Reply

